Irish Chamber Orchestra hosted by Kilkee Civic Trust < Back

Event Over

Kilkee Civic Trust in association with Cultúrlann Sweeney are delighted to welcome back to Kilkee The Irish Chamber Orchestra.

Death of a Maiden

Katherine Hunka Director/Violin
Nicola Sweeney Violin

Vivaldi Concerto for 4 Violins and Cello in D-major, Op. 3 No. 1 (RV 549)
Malachy Robinson Dream of the Green Men
JS Bach Concerto for 2 Violins in D minor, BWV 1042
Schubert String Quartet in D Minor D 810 Death and the Maiden

The spark of Vivaldi’s inflammable brilliance first ignited with his Opus 3: L’estro armonico or The Genius of Harmony –a set of twelve concertos, and one of the most influential works of its day. No. 1 oozes creativity and imagination.

Malachy Robinson’s cinematic new work (commissioned for this tour) invokes music both old and new, and green men both woodland and alien.

Bach’s Concerto for 2 Violins in D minor, known as the Double Violin Concerto, is one of his best-loved works. True to his nature, Bach’s Double is infused with polyphony, resulting in a fascinating 3-way dialogue between soloists and the orchestra, all sharing melodic ideas and motivic fragments throughout.

Schubert’s Death and the Maiden is one of his finest works and a cornerstone of the repertoire. Encompassing the full range of emotion from extreme tenderness to high drama, whilst ending in a wild Tarantella, it makes for thought-provoking, engaging listening.

Booking 065 9060769 or online
Tickets €25.00

Like This? Share it on..

Your comment

All fields marked with * are required.